Return to ParnasMusic


How Dragonflies Cross the Ocean - Medody Eotvos
Madalyn Parnas, Delyana Lazarova, Rose Wollman, Jae Y. Choi

The 2011 Midwest Composers Symposium was held at the IU Jacobs School of Music on November 11 & 12. Madalyn performed in all four concerts! Concert I opened the Symposium on Friday evening with the IU New Music Ensemble directed by David Dzubay. On Saturday Madalyn performed a work by an IU composition student in each of the three concerts: 10:00am - a string quartet "How Dragonflies Cross the Ocean" by Melody Eötvös, 4:00pm - a work for five violins "Gold Rush" by Ryan Chase, and 8:00pm - a chamber orchestral piece "Mr. Brain" by Michael Sweeney. Ryan is the winner of the 2011 BMI Student Composer Award and "Gold Rush" took the William Schuman Prize for best score! This semester there has been lots of "old" music on Madalyn's calendar too: a performance of Brahms' Sextet in Bb Major with Jaime Laredo and Sharon Robinson, Stravinsky's L'histoire du soldat, and Beethoven's Septet in Eb Major. Her Fall 2011 Artist Diploma recital program included old and new - sonatas by Brahms, Beethoven, and Bolcom!

Gold Rush - Ryan Chase
Madalyn and violinists with Ryan Chase conducting